Ipswich Unemployed Action.

Campaigning for Unemployed Rights.

Sanctions: the Aftermath.

with 58 comments

Yesterday the media had many reports about Sanctions.

The BBC said,

More than 400,000 people have lost Jobseeker’s Allowance under new government sanctions aimed at ensuring they actively seek work.

Some 580,000 sanctions were handed down between October 2012 and June 2013, a 6% rise on the same period a year earlier, before rules were toughened.

Work Minister Esther McVey said,

The people who get sanctions are wilfully rejecting support for no good reason and if there were a reason … there is something known as ‘good cause’, so if that seemed true and genuine you’d have good cause there to not have a sanction, plus there is a process in place just to ensure we are getting it right.”

The BBC also reported,

Peter Jones avoided a serious brain injury when he fell at work in November last year. But while he escaped with his health, his good fortune ended there – he was told not to come back to work and went to sign on.

This was a month after new rules for those out of work were introduced and he was about to find out all about them.

“I’d worked all my life,” he says. “But they treated me as if I was cheating the system from day one. They didn’t even know me.”

eter, who says he was applying for “five to six jobs a day”, felt this was just what he was doing.

Designed to help

He had moved from Llandudno to be near his seriously ill mother in Stafford who was in and out of hospital with brain tumours.

But when he wanted to move back to Wales and look for work there, he says job centre officials 100 miles away in Stafford deemed this an “inappropriate search”.

He was sanctioned and did not have any income for the whole of December. He got into debt and, aged 30, moved back in with his parents.

“I didn’t know what to do or how to get out of it,” he says.

When he moved and signed on in Wales, he was sanctioned again for not attending a meeting with an adviser back in Stafford.

Peter found a job as soon as he returned to Wales but, because of the sanctions, he had only received two JSA payments in the three months he was out of work.

“I’m scared of ever being in that situation again,” he says.

Mark Serwotka, general secretary, of the PCS union which represents Job centre staff, said:

“Today’s sanctions statistics show a shocking rise in the numbers being penalised, resulting in severe and dehumanising hardship for claimants and their families. The new sanctions regime damages the relationship between Jobcentre advisers and claimants, and is entirely counterproductive in helping people to find work.

“Our members joined to help people back into work, not to trip them up and police an increasingly unreasonable system. The government’s perverse and punitive approach is a collective punishment on the unemployed and the disabled for its own failure to create sufficient jobs.”

Boycott Workfare, the respected campaign group says,

Boycott Workfare have called on the Public and Commercial Services union, the union for job centre staff, to ballot their members on a boycott of workfare and sanctions.

Boycott Workfare have called for a UK-wide Week of Action Against Sanctions and Workfare from 2nd to 8th December.

Written by Andrew Coates

November 7, 2013 at 12:40 pm

58 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Support? Sorry? Support? What Bloody support? I have tried to go through my job search with the JCP clerk and ask what they think I am doing wrong,not interested “I am here to make sure you comply with your JSA agreement” No advice? ….”I am only here to to make sure that you comply with your JSA agreement,if you fail to comply a doubt will be raised”

    ou812

    November 7, 2013 at 3:27 pm

  2. The whole idea of being “supported” is patronising cack.

    They don’t actually offer jobs do they?

    Andrew Coates

    November 7, 2013 at 4:22 pm

  3. As I found out at a mandatory meeting on Tuesday, I was told that I would now sign at my wp. Jobcentre WILL be in attendance daily at wp for signing purposes. My wp is nervous about any motive about it. Is it to keep an eye on wp. or clients attending wp or a snatch back to run in house?.

    Nervous 'O Toole

    November 7, 2013 at 4:34 pm

  4. mine has not even got a pot to piss in to 4 iad for thousands of ppl to use and no one can use them atm cos of the dpa and eu law and all of the job points have been scraped so there is not even any way to look for work at my jcp

    super ted

    November 7, 2013 at 4:35 pm

  5. That Accounts For Jobpoints At My Jobcentre Being Off Today With ”Technical Issues

    Baron Green Back

    November 7, 2013 at 4:40 pm

  6. they turned off the ones at mine months ago and put a notice on them to use ujm

    super ted

    November 7, 2013 at 4:46 pm

  7. Forgot to mention. Mine had about 8 phones for calling employers and Dwp Departments.
    Today there were only two available. The others having been removed

    Baron Green Back

    November 7, 2013 at 4:50 pm

    • We have just 1 phone kiosk, the others are still there but with no phones in them. If you call from a mobile as i have had to it costs a fortune to listen to Vivaldi on a loop for 20 mins. If you’re lucky, an advisor may answer before you run out of credit!

      chris

      November 7, 2013 at 4:54 pm

      • Does anybody else {although they won’t admit it publicly} including Jobcentre Staff / Department For Work And Pensions. Does this look like the End Of The Beginning Of Jobcentres Etc

        Baron Green Back

        November 7, 2013 at 4:58 pm

      • It will probably be shipped out to private providers.

        Chris

        November 8, 2013 at 12:32 pm

  8. sounds about right that will be to get you to pay and have to ring them on there high rate number or lose ur benefits, had to ring them last week as i was told i was pissed by g4s and had to rearrange it for the next day n cost 4 quid on the mobile out side the dump

    super ted

    November 7, 2013 at 4:55 pm

  9. id start taking pens as they will prob take all of them away as well so you cant sign on and them just sit there n say we dont provide pens any more.

    ill right mine in blood if i have to :).

    super ted

    November 7, 2013 at 5:06 pm

  10. It wont be long before you will find that by logging onto UJM you’ll have been deemed to have signed on.. or is 5 day wp attendance for unemployed in the offing );

    Baron Green Back

    November 7, 2013 at 5:12 pm

  11. they wanted me to sign on every day until i showed them the bus fair was 30 quid a week n soon backed off that 1 lol

    super ted

    November 7, 2013 at 5:17 pm

  12. They sanction you because they want to sanction you. Because you might be the type to
    ask questions, because you might know your rights, because you tell them to not treat you like dirt, Etc etc,

    If you wont go online they sanction you, never mind that you might actually be looking for work. Never mind that the their own rules state they cannot specify how a claimant keeps jobsearch records!
    That’s not why we are getting sanctioned, we get sanctioned because we don’t do exactly as we’re told. It’s about control.

    One adviser might actually be a decent human being, then on a different week when you encounter a psychopath, unless you are rather lucky an instant sanction.

    Fine for that idiot minister to mention ‘good cause’, but when it’s your word against the psycho adviser? Who the DM gonna believe? Not all sanctions are equal or quite so straightforward.

    I am currently sanctioned till after christmas. Again!

    I have had no benefit since the beginning of July. All for bullshit reasons. Fill in a DR7 form? Lol. GL24? Lol. Unless they make obvious mistakes then there is no way the DM will find in your favour.
    It’s guilty until proven innocent. They are harsher than the criminal court. At least they want evidence and a trial before you get your punishment! Not the DWP.

    They say no money, they mean no money. I’m still in tribunal for last years sanctions!

    Complete bullshit that was too, My case was adjourned, but should continue soon.
    I hope I get the same judge because she seemed to be on my side. Will a different one be?
    Hmmm?

    Stay strong people.

    Mr No

    November 7, 2013 at 5:48 pm

  13. these fools have no compassion or respect for people who have worked all their lives and paid their NI and taxes. It is very unfair that people who paid into the system all their lives get the same amount of money as a low life benefit scrounger gets who never paid anything into the pot. This is very wrong. The Hitler youth who man the trenches in the joke center treat everybody as guilty before they sit at the desk. A friend of mine who worked hard for many years and paid all his taxes had to sign on last year for a few months.He got so much shit from the joke center after being unemployed for 8 weeks that he went in and told them to stick their £71 pounds up their asses. These people need to understand that it’s their job to assist us in our hour of need, but when you have sanction targets to meet it don’t matter who you treat like shit as long as you meet the target. It matters little if a person goes cold and hungry.

    mik

    November 7, 2013 at 7:10 pm

    • “It is very unfair that people who paid into the system all their lives get the same amount of money as a low life benefit scrounger gets who never paid anything into the pot.”

      The exact kind of duhumanising “deserving and undeserving poor” rhetoric that plays right into the Tories hands.

      Well done.

      Special Guest Star

      November 8, 2013 at 5:42 pm

      • Especially when you consider that after 6 months the dole you receive has nothing to do with the stamp you paid while working. Whoever said this clearly has benefits confused with pensions

        gaia

        November 11, 2013 at 7:03 am

  14. In effect I am telling them to stick it up their arse. I expect to get referred for sanction every fortnight now. I will not comply with their bullshit.
    I have just finished my stint on the Verk Programme. But the JC is just as bad now.
    I have zero income due to constant sanctions, so if they expect me to comply I wont.
    I cannot, even if I wanted to!
    Unless they pay my fares in advance I will not be attending the JC every day, for example.
    I will tell them that I cannot fully participate with them due to the ‘barrier to work’ of no jobSEEKERS allowance!!!

    Am I the only one who doesn’t resort to applying for any old job just to keep them off ones back? If I don’t find a vacancy then I cannot write that i did. Simple. I can sit there for two hours looking at a hundred pages of jobs and not find one to apply for.
    For all the logical reasons like distance vs min wage, needing experience etc.
    There are jobs, but not many suitable. Some weeks go by and i might only find the odd one or two to apply for. That’s the reality, if the JC don’t like it tough. I look for work.
    I have had no money for the past 4 months and none ever expected again to be honest.
    Hardship if I’m lucky. Applying for that soon. I’ve exhausted any and all assets, taken enough charity. Let’s see if they even can afford me that. State your reasons they say! Lol.

    At my next appointment I have yet another adviser, perhaps part of the ‘hit squad’ for WP completers? Whatever!
    An understanding decent adviser? Or just another drone? We will see. i just turn up to provide my written job search and signed declaration. That way I’m still on the system as looking for work (not that they believe a word you say) and can prepare my case to take them to court for harassment, alarm and distress. It’s affecting my health, my social life, my state of mind. Of course the unemployed aren’t allowed to have anything resembling a social life until they are in work. Are they? It’s shameful the way we are treated. Inhuman.

    As soon as i can find one of these alleged pro bono solicitors who will listen to my case I am at the very least going to try and get my incorrectly applied sanctions overturned. And a bit extra for the torment they dish out unjustly. Hey, probably a waste of time, but nothing to lose!.We cannot do much collectively, so we got to hit them as ahrd as we can individually.

    Not easy when you are struggling to survive and stay sane.

    Stay strong people.

    Mr No

    November 7, 2013 at 8:17 pm

  15. why did you not sign off and just wait 6 months and then put in a new claim for jsa.

    had a jumped up lil fucker telling me i can now get sanctioned for 3 years and i wont be able to get any money for that time so said b4 that happens ill sign off wait 6 months and put in a new claim for jsa so avoid a 3 year sanction ever happening

    that seemed to piss him off a tad like proding a hornets nest with a stick hehe 🙂

    super ted

    November 7, 2013 at 8:35 pm

    • Thought about doing that, but why not go in there and stand up for myself i thought.

      If i sign off that’s it and then there is no choice but to be forced online when you reclaim.

      And sign off and you cannot claim hardship. As long as i’m signing I can go at them via complaints, tribunal etc etc. Sign off and lose that option. If I sign off I have nothing, If i continue to sign i have nothing. Might as well go in there and document the treatment.

      I do see your point, but what works for one might not work for anohter. it didn’t suit me.

      i go in there wired for sound and just respond to whatever they do. Like a journalist without an outlet.

      So, I stay signing on and now I study them. I encounter some good people in there from time to time. There are people in the dwp that do see what’s happening. Thank goodness.
      Some have been quite decent to me and given me a heads up who to trust and who not to.
      They aren’t all nasty. Just most of them.

      It’s beyond the money now, I will only take work when it’s suitable, never will i be forced into something i cannot do, that’s too far away, that will harm my health. Just because they want you in work. And off the benefit. Lol. What benefit? I just turn up listen, sometimes debate with them. Often impossible, but it’s quite fascinating sometimes. How they try and outdo you, Twist what you say etc. I play this silly game with them often. But they cannot deal with the truth. It don’t set you free, but it certainly pisses them off.
      And i never swear or get too aggressive. They hate that too. Lol. It;’s all a joke so i go in there and treat it like one.
      If they want to treat me like shit I cannot help that, but I can document it.

      Something has to be done, i just do my little bit. Telling anyone who will listen. Some of them seem genuinely shocked when i tell them what’s happened to me. Except the psychos. They almost go into a frenzy. Does not compute. Bzzzzt.

      I call out the psychopaths, I speak my mind. Because i can afford to. I’m not totally alone and without support.

      I also thank the good ones who treat me with respect. When you do meet a nice JC employee it’s important to let them know that you appreciate them and their attitude.

      They treat you decently, then be decent with them. They try and mess you around then you mess with them right back. Fuck ’em.

      Anyway, i know i rant quite a bit. Some days i wake up and almost believe that it isn’t real.

      But it’s actually happening and it’s beyond words really. Truth is certainly stranger than fiction sometimes. People say to me ‘They cant do that’. i respond by saying ‘They can do what they like’. We have no voice. We are criminals in their eyes.

      Probably report back what my first post WP appointment reveals. Fun, fun, fun.

      It’s not really, but it is kind of fascinating.

      Madness.

      Mr No

      November 7, 2013 at 10:35 pm

  16. my post appointment was with a hs adviser in the back of the office out the way of the main office.

    was asked for a copy of my bank statements got on line banking so will cost 15 quid for a copy of that so just took a photo of my account on my phone and was not happy but tuff shit as they wont give me the money to get a paper copy.

    wanted a cv end off so just made 1 with ujm and took a photo of it and a few other pages to prove i got a ujm account and then deleted it .

    will also change ur jsa ie got to put 5 jobs a week on my job search or i will get a sanction even if i put down 9 jobs is not good enough.

    will try to get ur email addr and phone number as well but never gave mine and cant do anything about it.

    will also try the sign on every day lark but as i just showed them i was – 20 in my account and wanted me in the next day and got no money for the bus fair so made him get his floor manager and that soon changed.

    bus fair will not be paid cash and will be put in ur account after 3 working days or i got fuel allowance of 25p a mile and had 1 payment in advance for the next weeks interview.

    went 7 times in 2 weeks then sent back to sign as normal now so must of got board of me growling and roaring at him and had the floor manager out 3 times to him as well.

    problem is my new adviser is the 1 that sent me on the wp in the first place so ill enjoy grilling the crap out of her next week.:)

    super ted

    November 7, 2013 at 11:19 pm

  17. you get the full atos points if you cant control ur bowels mind just say ids gave me ibs n now im full of shit and about to blow it all out like a volcano n ask to use the bog as u cant afford man nappies 🙂

    SHIT FOR PIP

    super ted

    November 7, 2013 at 11:31 pm

  18. Mr No – have you looked at the posts on the Unemployment Forum recently? I think it would be worth your while. Re sanctions you might be able to get help from Mary.

    EffJay

    November 8, 2013 at 6:41 am

  19. Sanctioning Made Easy, by the DWP:

    “A flowchart on the wall shows how to raise a successful sanction.”

    http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2013/nov/08/duncan-smith-poverty-benefit-sanctions-easterhouse

    JBS

    November 8, 2013 at 12:59 pm

    • NEW TICK BOX ON JOB SEEKERS AGREEMENT [ ] TICK THIS BOX TO GET A SANCTION.
      FAILURE TO TICK WILL RESULT IN A SANCTION DOUBT BEING RAISED

      WHAT!!!!

      November 8, 2013 at 3:15 pm

  20. Ok So You Manage to do nothing that gets you a sanction. Will that become sanctonable

    King Of Kernow

    November 8, 2013 at 3:02 pm

  21. Blooming ‘eck!
    I didn’t get any sanction doubts raised this week! Oh well, there’s always next time.
    Post WP hit squad time for me. Luckily I have a rookie. Not a Wookie! Lol.

    Mad day at the JC. Applied for the hardship payments, we will see how that pans out!

    They’re doing the usual of trying to pin me down to different job goals, I just dance around the subject listening to them trying to get you to agree stuff. Funny actually.
    Obviously they want to change the goals to easy to find menial work, generic stuff etc.
    So they can push any old crap on you. No thanks, I have skills and experience, i may change one job goal, but not all 3. Oh no dear adviser, nice try.

    Other stuff too, but too bizarre, it needs it’s own post. Actually no, whilst there there was someone ringing a bell like they used to back in primary school at break times! This person rung a bell and there was a little cheer and a clap or two. I thought WTF? This happened about 3 times whilst there.
    I made the joke that I thought it was to signify another successfully sanctioned claimant!.

    Apparently they ring this bell when one of the claimants gets a job!
    Apparently it’s just in this one section of the JC. Who knows what the other claimants thought was going on with that!
    I had a word to the wise and found out that not all the staff are fans of this strange little ritual. It was quite surreal, I enquired, I had to, I wanted to know!
    They’re all fucking mad! Lol.

    Mr No

    November 8, 2013 at 8:41 pm

    • A4greed uses the bell system too. In 2 years of futile time wasting appointments I heard it rung once.

      Gissajob

      November 11, 2013 at 9:07 am

    • You Can Cuddle A Wookie

      Darth Vader

      November 28, 2013 at 8:51 am

  22. “Apparently they ring this bell when one of the claimants gets a job!”

    Utterly infantile and yet another method of demeaning people.

    I wonder if they have a special team coming up with this stuff?

    Perhaps future jobseekers will have to sing the DWP song each time they sign?

    Perhaps the aim is to kill jobseekers with embarrassment?

    Lucy

    November 9, 2013 at 9:53 am

    • They have appropriated the idea of ringing a bell from Ingeus, they have always done this when an adviser gets someone a job, even if it’s only a temporary job.

      Obi Wan Kenobi

      November 9, 2013 at 11:06 am

      • …and maybe Ingeus appropriated it from Weight Watchers, who used to ring a bell if anyone attending a weekly weigh in, has put on weight?

        Lucy

        November 9, 2013 at 4:12 pm

      • Lucy:

        I have witnessed this bell ringing (In House) this is so incedibly disgusting (as it signals another bonus top-up for the adviser involved). – What a fucked up system!

        Obi Wan Kenobi

        November 9, 2013 at 5:45 pm

  23. Relations between jobcentre advisors and claimants is already at rock bottom,and has been for a long time.

    its alright the pcs saying this and that,but its their members who complicit in all of this. its all about sanctions after the work programme.the staff are hostile and intimidatory.

    what they are handing out is little more then a malicious communication paperwork for these appointments. any outsider looking at these would be shocked by the intimidation and threats. they shouldn’t be handing these out especially to vulnerable disabled people who are given protection under law. these letters make no reference to that right.

    ken

    November 9, 2013 at 11:06 am

    • KEN IT’S GOING TO GET WORSE. WE NOW SIGN ON AT OUR WPP’S IN IPSWICH. JCP STAFF ARE THERE TO TAKE CLAIMS THEN PROCESS THEM BACK AT THE JOBCENTRES. ONEDAY THERE WILL BE AN ALMIGHTY RIOT. BY THE WAY THIS IS IN IPSWICH. WHAT ABOUT OTHER AREAS

      NEWSNIGHT

      November 9, 2013 at 4:23 pm

    • Jobcentre advisers refer to the post-work programme mandatory intervention regime interviews as an RAD (Raise a Doubt) interviews. It’s a jobcentre in-joke as RAD also refers to the Reichsarbeitsdienst (the Reich Labour Service). Jobcentre Plus just loves Nazi connotations.

      Jobcentre Insider

      November 9, 2013 at 6:31 pm

      • From Poly Toynbee’s Article

        A regular “deep throat” correspondent describes the work: “You park your conscience at the door,” he tells me. “Sanctions are applied for anything at all to hit the targets.”

        Many claimants don’t know what’s happened until their benefit suddenly stops. Many are semi-literate or have bad English: “It’s very easy to hand someone two sheets of A4 and get them to ‘agree’ to 50 ‘steps’ towards work and then sanction them when they don’t even know what a ‘step’ is. The claim is shut down for two weeks and sanctioned for two weeks, so the person disappears from the figures.”

        People are often sanctioned for a no-show at appointments they never knew about. If they call to rearrange an appointment, “we don’t answer the phones, so that’s a bit tricky”. A flowchart on the wall shows how to raise a successful sanction. WTF!

        Smash Sanctions

        November 10, 2013 at 8:04 am

      • The people doing this should be called to account – I am serious.

        It is completely wrong that anybody has the power to throw anybody else into the deepest poverty.

        Andrew Coates

        November 10, 2013 at 10:54 am

    • They are also hostile & intimidatory before after the wp … (depending i suppose on how threatened/frustrated we make them feel – accidentally or otherwise).

      shirleynott

      November 10, 2013 at 2:37 am

  24. Obi Wan Kenobi :
    Lucy:
    I have witnessed this bell ringing (In House) this is so incedibly disgusting (as it signals another bonus top-up for the adviser involved). – What a fucked up system!

    Obi Wan Kenobi :
    Lucy:
    I have witnessed this bell ringing (In House) this is so incedibly disgusting (as it signals another bonus top-up for the adviser involved). – What a fucked up system!

    The only bell i heard in there was the fire alarm being set off.these stupid ideas have been seen before,hunting for Easter eggs containing job ads for example.

    ken

    November 9, 2013 at 6:34 pm

    • Listen up, guys. They only get a bonus top-up if you’ve signed a data protection waiver. I never did. And now that I’m on the PWPS regime, I’ve made it clear to my JCP adviser that he does not share my personal data with a third party without my consent. I’ve told him and his manager in writing and by email, to give me an employer’s details and I will contact them. Not the other way round.

      jj joop

      November 10, 2013 at 5:02 pm

      • As excellent a move as that is do bare in mind that their are exemptions to DPA and that DWP are no strangers to using them like they did for the system that connected DWP to work programme providers (IT).

        For anyone that doesn’t know DPA that means if they claim it as an exemption AND THAT IT IS SUCH (LEGALLY SO) then they can pass on your personal and sensitive data WITHOUT PRIOR CONSENT,WITHOUT FEAR OF PROSECUTION.

        This said just because they might cite it, that doesn’t mean they are correct.

        Data Protection Act Part IV Exemptions.

        gaia

        November 11, 2013 at 7:34 am

  25. Obi Wan Kenobi :
    Lucy:
    I have witnessed this bell ringing (In House) this is so incedibly disgusting (as it signals another bonus top-up for the adviser involved). – What a fucked up system!

    With the number of sanctions being handed out, it will not be long before JC+ releases an album of the bell ringing – The Carillion of Shame

    Lucy

    November 10, 2013 at 10:14 am

  26. Off-topic. From Disability News:

    “Independent Living Fund victory: McVey silent over possible resignation”

    “The judges ruled that [Esther] McVey had breached the public sector equality duty of the Equality Act when making the decision to close the fund in December 2012.”

    http://disabilitynewsservice.com/2013/11/independent-living-fund-victory-mcvey-silent-over-possible-resignation/

    JBS

    November 10, 2013 at 12:49 pm

    • It would be great if the challenge ‘kills’ two birds with one stone.

      shirleynott

      November 10, 2013 at 1:46 pm

  27. Benefit sanctions are State Terrorism.

    Landless Peasant

    November 10, 2013 at 4:04 pm

  28. Smash Sanctions :
    From Poly Toynbee’s Article
    A regular “deep throat” correspondent describes the work: “You park your conscience at the door,” he tells me. “Sanctions are applied for anything at all to hit the targets.”
    Many claimants don’t know what’s happened until their benefit suddenly stops. Many are semi-literate or have bad English: “It’s very easy to hand someone two sheets of A4 and get them to ‘agree’ to 50 ‘steps’ towards work and then sanction them when they don’t even know what a ‘step’ is. The claim is shut down for two weeks and sanctioned for two weeks, so the person disappears from the figures.”
    People are often sanctioned for a no-show at appointments they never knew about. If they call to rearrange an appointment, “we don’t answer the phones, so that’s a bit tricky”. A flowchart on the wall shows how to raise a successful sanction. WTF!

    It’s not just the semi-literate and claimants who have bad english who are being sanctioned. I’ve seen people are switched-on and intelligent who have been sanctioned. A lot of claimants, switched or otherwise seem to be utterly clueless about how sanctions work.

    jj joop

    November 10, 2013 at 5:09 pm

    • It seems like I’m not switched-on today either. I think you can see where I’m coming from.

      jj joop

      November 10, 2013 at 5:10 pm

  29. Someone must have heard you Super Ted

    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-politics-24888608

    gaia

    November 11, 2013 at 7:36 am

  30. Remember this long fuelled argument over national minimum wage for those on the up coming WORK FOR BENEFIT SCHEME, well here’s a turn up for the books.

    Pay attention to the second to last paragraph.

    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-24894014

    It will be interesting to see how it fits in with the DWP agenda next year especially when cross referenced with the term civic obligation.

    gaia

    November 11, 2013 at 8:17 am

    • GAIA. ARE YOU WORKING FOR DWP IN SHEFFIELD OR CAXTON HOUSE. YOU SEEM TO KNOW TOO MUCH ABOUT REGULATIONS AND PROCEDURES. MUCH MORE THAN ANYBODY ELSE ON THISE SITE. AT SOME STAGE HAVE YOU BEEN A DIVISION ONE CIVIL SERVANT OR EVEN WORKED AT TINTAGEL HOUSE ON THE SOUTH BANK ?

      MR PUZZLED

      November 11, 2013 at 8:36 am

      • I wouldn’t say more than as many a claimant like super ted for instance does just fine implementing the same said laws without my help.

        I wish I did work for DWP as then someone would listen or at least try and sack me as a result of hitting a nerve.

        In my normal trade that I have mentioned many a time on posts to this site I have to as a matter of course be conversant in law in order to practice. Naturally it only makes good sense to transfer such a skill to my domestic life like I do my engineering.

        This of course in itself isn’t enough as the game is one of tug a war so spend equal time staying in touch with politics as policy sets presidence.

        Whether or not a claimant or anybody practices what is after all a moral duty if one is to be classed as a citizen in the true sense is a question only they can answer.

        “A Democracy is the government of the People by the People”.

        gaia

        November 11, 2013 at 1:13 pm

  31. I am not a homosexual.

    William Hague

    November 11, 2013 at 9:06 am

  32. This is quite an interesting read on sanctions from an FOI to the DWP and a stark lie at the bottom concerning Workfare.

    https://www.whatdotheyknow.com/request/179594/response/437149/attach/html/3/FOI%20Response%204737.pdf.html

    Obi Wan Kenobi

    November 14, 2013 at 4:03 pm

    • Straight off the bat I hope this Mr Powell wrote back as the use of section 40 of the FOI is incorrectly applied by DWP. Mr Powell never asked for such information

      Mr Powells quoted question

      “I have recently become aware of some ridiculous reasons as to why the DWP have sanctioned people. I’m going to present some of these below. For each case I would like to see a report showing what the DWP have done in each case to avoid the same thing happening in future”.

      DWP will argue he did request individual reports but in earnest they could be produced without parting with any personal data. Whether or not FOI is the right medium to attain such a response is questionable but none the less the question is warranted and hopefully pursued.

      gaia

      November 26, 2013 at 10:12 am

  33. This statement is a feeble effort to distance himself from the real thing that is worrying him, the pile of dead bodies that point the finger of blame firmly at his feet…………..

    It’s ok to have a double barreled name like DUNCAN SMITH, but to have it associated with MURDER ON AN EPIC SCALE could prove very embarrassing for this inept coward who is nearing his sell by date.

    His time is numbered. No party wants the stain of a contract killer on its books, especially the con-dems.

    One thing is certain this Christmas, he will not sleep very well because his conscience will not allow it………….

    Rather like the Dickens novel, his past will come back to haunt him, and haunt him it will.
    Ignorance of the facts has always resulted in a fall from grace, his will be no different.

    ,,,,,,,,,,,,he will not be remembered for anything good, because he has not done anything good, he will be remembered throughout history as the taker of innocent lives and the DWP the weapon that delivered the fatal blows……….

    GEOFF REYNOLDS

    December 24, 2013 at 9:53 am


Leave a Reply

