Ipswich Unemployed Action.

Campaigning for Unemployed Rights.

A4E, Gulity of Racial Discrimination, SERCO, alleged ‘sexual abuse’, where will this all end?

with 18 comments

A4E, and SERCO are important players in the ‘welfare-to-work’ business.

A4E’s finger in the Work Programme and other pies is well-known.

SERCO runs the Work Programme in Coventry and Warwickshire, Staffordshire and The Marches; and South Yorkshire.

SERCO also runs a host of dodgy outfits, including the immigration detention centre at Yarl’s Wood.

Apparently they are up to get slice of the Probation Service as well.

First we have A4E (Guardian today),

The training company A4e has been found guilty of racial discrimination and been ordered to pay out £50,000 in compensation, the Guardian has learned. Employment tribunal judges found that the company, paid £345m by the Department for Work and Pensions for its back-to-work employment services since 2010, racially discriminated against Rohim Ullah when it unlawfully dismissed him from its Bradford office in 2011.

Two other white managers who were facing almost identical allegations of failing to follow proper procedures – one of whom was also accused of commenting that an Iraqi customer should “fuck off back to his own country” – were not subject to a similar standard of investigation, tribunal judges found.

Ullah, from Yorkshire, who was “very pleased” at winning the two-year battle, said he was picked on by the company because of the colour of his skin.”I believe the reason why they discriminated against me was they had to find a scapegoat [for failures in the office] … and they thought, we’ll get this black person here.”

In their judgment, the tribunal said it could not understand why A4e, which is appealing against the ruling, chose to proceed with allegations of serious misconduct against only Ullah and ignored the similar allegations made against two white members of staff which were “swept under the carpet or treated as minor misconduct [issues]”.

“The other managers were not even questioned regarding these allegations, but every comment that was made against me, they took it [their investigations] to the extreme limit,” Ullah said.

Giving their verdict, the judges said that 40-year-old Ullah was “the subject of unlawful detriment in facing disciplinary proceedings leading to his dismissal and that he was unlawfully dismissed as an act of race discrimination”.

In a statement, A4e said it was proud to have a diverse community of people within its organisation and that it had in place robust policies to protect their rights and to ensure that all staff were treated with dignity and respect.

Then we see this about one of SERCO’s lucrative wings  (Observer yesterday),

Three more women have come forward to corroborate allegations of inappropriate sexual contact between inmates and staff at Yarl’s Wood immigration removal centre, including claims that such behaviour is still going on.

Their accounts support allegations made by a former detainee in theObserver on Septhember 15 and challenge the assertion made by Serco, the private-sector company that runs Yarl’s Wood, that alleged sexual contact between women and staff is not widespread.

You wonder exactly how they treat their welfare clients as well.

Written by Andrew Coates

September 23, 2013 at 10:36 am

18 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Does SERCO have a record of harassing people?

    Where do bears go to

    Ho ho…

    John

    September 23, 2013 at 3:59 pm

  2. Urgent FAO Johnny Void: Your blog is messed up and not displaying properly, the comment button is not working!

    The Void

    September 23, 2013 at 4:34 pm

    • “bobchewie | September 23, 2013 at 5:57 pm | Reply

      Your comment is awaiting moderation.”

      – the Void is seriously screwed up at the moment! DO NOT adjust your flatscreen TVs! lol

      NOT Bob Chewie

      September 23, 2013 at 5:27 pm

      • And why is it that it is just the ‘Void’ (wordpress blog) that appears to be affected. What the fuck is going on? You do wonder!

        NOT Bob Chewie

        September 23, 2013 at 6:29 pm

      • Johnny Void had an article published in the Guardian recently. Perhaps the idea of JV going increasingly MSM troubles the DWP so much that they’ve asked the NSA and GCHQ to fuck up his blog.

        You think?

        Poor. Old. Tired. Horse

        September 23, 2013 at 8:33 pm

      • Johnny Void – Polly Toynbee in a skirt! lol

        Guardianista

        September 23, 2013 at 9:11 pm

  3. Went into my local jcp yesterday and overheard two claimants being referred to a decision maker for minor JSAg infractions. No privacy at all in these places, none at all. Everything open-plan.

    jj joop

    September 24, 2013 at 4:40 pm

    • After you go, the scum (=staff) laugh and make personal comments about the jobseeker and often sanction him/her. I’ve months of experience overhearing this, if you add up all the hours I’ve stood there jobseeking on the shitty machines while the ‘workers’ (sic) mess about and make jokes. They comment on lifestyle, appearance (too scruffy, proves you’re scum or you aren’t trying, too smart and you have a secret paid job or private wealth or are a drug dealer), single mothers (“she shouldn’t have had the kid/s if she can’t afford to keep them” is the commonest remark), ethnic group, national origin, religion, disability, body shape, etc. A lot of what they say is illegal under hate speech and slander. They slag off your character and say they believe you are lying; they make assumptions about your lifestyle (lazy, will spend day boozing and watching TV). Lately since I’ve come off WP there are less of them and they have all this free time in which they muck about, but also chat in ‘busy periods’ and delay your appointment, then call you the late one. They can make you wait 30 minutes. Then they are rude to your face. For 2 minutes, 10, 20, or in one case (mine) 46 seconds between ‘sit down’ and ‘your appointment is over’. I can sometimes run round one lap of the track in that time, you DWP muppets! Of course you can not be late yourself. I’m often nearly late. If I am for example limping with a sprained ankle I sometimes try leaving early to get a bus. And in that case usually sod’s law says the bus doesn’t come, so I then have to run. And then though I got there just in time they diss me for running. You never know how long you’ll be kept there. They’ve said phone us please. I point out the one phone, usually vandalised, is not near enough to the bus stop for going to the jobcentre, and I 8 times in 10 don’t have the money for a call, a call in any case to a call centre not my actual jobcentre, who won’t pass on any message in time. And that if I had the money, and wanted to risk missing a further bus by leaving the bus stop to walk back to the phone, and it was working and unoccupied, and I got through – by the time I’d done all that I’d have been out of enough time to get (by running fast) the 2 miles to the jobcentre, and would be sanctioned. I’ve also been sanctioned for getting a bus and still being on it as it was stuck in traffic or slowed by the ‘totally unexpected’ scenario of actually stopping at other stops to pick up passengers!
      Morons….

      something survived...

      September 27, 2013 at 7:23 pm

  4. From the Mirror today:

    ‘Starving families are being forced to shoplift so they can put food on the table, says one of Britain’s top police officers.

    He says they’re so desperate that they are stealing basics like meat and cheese.

    Lancashire Chief Constable Steve Finnigan said: “With regards shoplifting, we are seeing an increase.

    “The offenders are very often first-time offenders and when you talk to them, they are not doing this to sell stuff on.

    “The stuff they talk about is food stuff.

    “It is very often meat and cheese they are stealing and it is for themselves and their family.”

    He said there had been a spike in shoplifting cases where thieves had taken grocery items.’

    http://www.mirror.co.uk/money/personal-finance/austerity-britain-starving-families-stealing-2296520

    Poor. Old. Tired. Horse

    September 24, 2013 at 5:30 pm

  5. there’s another story on A4e

    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-politics-24286806

    shocking also is the 4% figure for disabled people,it appears these are being leaned on once back into the job centre.

    ken

    September 26, 2013 at 4:24 pm

  6. “Fraud office to examine Serco tagging contracts”

    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-24289650

    Annos

    September 26, 2013 at 9:08 pm

  7. 26 September 2013

    “The long-term unemployed are to be told they must do an unpaid full-time job or be stripped of their benefits.”

    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2434182/Now-work-benefits-Ministers-unveil-tough-crackdown-payments-jobless.html

    Annos

    September 26, 2013 at 10:14 pm

  8. “20 Ordinary Americans Take About Their Economic Despair”

    http://www.zerohedge.com/news/2013-09-24/20-ordinary-americans-take-about-their-economic-despair

    Annos

    September 27, 2013 at 1:18 am

  9. Work for my dole? I all ready do. I have a ‘full’ time job According to Government its called Job search how am I going to do my 30 hours a week job search?

    growls

    September 27, 2013 at 1:41 am

  10. Some of All for Emma and JCP staff and JCP security guards are rabid, racist bigots.

    something survived...

    September 27, 2013 at 7:27 pm

  11. Bloody morons! I have a new adviser at the WP. Only had her two months and already shes had me sanctioned twice. Once for bringing my little one to the job search session when I didn’t have any other child care available during the school half term, as I’m a single mum, only to be told by another adviser to go home and not to worry, as this was a good reason, next thing. Bam! 3 month Sanction! Now she’s trying her damnedest to do it again for “refusing” to take a job interview that is bloody miles away from my home, and the job would have been well out of my school hours contract. I told them I can only work school hours but I’m quite willing to work, “not good enough” was her reply and told me she was informing the JCP. I’m expecting another sanction soon. I’m getting very depressed and ill over it. I can’t eat properly and I don’t want to wake up in the morning. I cry all the time. I feel bad for my daughter seeing me like this. My mum, Who is in poor health herself has said I’m a changed person since I started on the WP. I am. I used to be happy. Yes, I want to work but where I live there are very few jobs. My new adviser is extremely mean and I don’t want to go anymore. Any advice would be great. Thanks. M.

    M.J

    May 16, 2014 at 2:14 am

    • A 3 month sanction for bringing your little one into a jobsearch session is bang out of order! Have you challenged this bullshit ‘decision’? i.e asked for a reconsideration? I would take it to a Tribunal.

      The ‘work programme’ will know if you any restrictions on you ‘availability for work’ regarding working hours as they have a copy of your JSAG along with everything else on the jobcentre system except your date of birth. There will also be a travel distance/time restriction on your JSAG. It’s not as if they even expect you to get this job, never mind an employer even giving it to an applicant who lives miles away; it’s just an attempt to stitch you up for a sanction. You sure this job even exists? If any of these restrictions apply especially the available for work hours any attempt at a sanction won’t stick. They will still try and stop your money for any bullshit reason they can think of because they not that even if it is over-turned (at Appeal) they will still cause financial distress in the meantime.

      You have to keep in mind that the whole point of what the ‘work programme’ are doing is to mess with your head (even another ‘adviser’ giving you contradictory information), stress you out and bully you off of benefits by any means possible, by hook or by crook; I know it’s easier said than done and it is difficult to not let these ‘programmes’ have an effect on you but the important thing is to stay strong and don’t let them beat you. Look after yourself and your little one. Don’t let the bastards grind you down!

      Welfare Rights Adviser

      May 16, 2014 at 6:52 am

      • Thanks so much for replying. It seems really unfair that they’d sanction me for as long as this for such a minor “failure” as they call it. I am appealing the first sanction at the moment and I am signed up to all the job agencies as even very temp work would be better than staying with this lot! I’m also waiting to hear if I qualify for hardship pay as the jobcentre advisor told me I can get it for my child. My previous WP advisor knew of my restrictions and never pressured me to take work outside those hours or jobs too far from home. She left and I was referred to this one. I have applied for jobs, been for interviews and still no success. I put it down to bad luck but my “advisor” blames me for being lazy. As for that job miles away, it probably is all a con. I heard from someone that it was a “course with a job at the end” says it all, doesn’t it? 🙂 I am going to make an appt. with the CAB as soon as I can and get the help i need to make sure I get everything sorted out. I’m angry though that these ppl can do this stuff to people who are vulnerable. I’ve even seen ppl with disabilities in there getting treated like rubbish. Again, thanks a lot for replying I really appreciate your advice. I hope this will be sorted soon…M 🙂

        M.J

        May 16, 2014 at 8:35 am


Leave a Reply

