Ipswich Unemployed Action.

Campaigning for Unemployed Rights.

Tories and Liberals Plan New Crack Down on Welfare.

with 60 comments

The Independent reported a few weeks back,

David Cameron today signalled the end of “compassionate Conservatism” with plans for a crackdown on welfare spending for the young, the jobless and those with large families.

Then we learnt that the millionaire Cabinet has decided (amongst other policies).

* Greater use of contraception to reduce “repeat abortions” and propose diluting the rights of workers in small businesses;

* Deducting from child benefit payments any fines imposed on the parents of truants.

We suppose they will supervise contraception for young women.

And put special supervision in place for parents on benefits with children in school.

Today (BBC) we hear of a further ‘cap’ on benefits.

Chancellor George Osborne is considering lowering the maximum amount families can claim in benefits to £20,000 a year, Treasury sources say.

A £26,000 cap on the total amount of benefits that non-working people aged 16 to 64 can receive, is coming into force in England, Scotland and Wales.

Critics say the changes will not tackle underlying problems of worklessness.

But Treasury sources say the cap could be lowered in future if it is shown to work.

Now this sounds like a lot of money.

But everyone gets the same basic rate of JSA etc.

The money is for housing.

That is, it goes to landlords not claimants.

What will happen is that people living in high-cost areas, like London, will be forced to move.

On Channel Four last night a woman single parent who lives in North London (Enfield) and is on benefits is being told that with the ‘cap’ she will have to move – possibly to somewhere near Birmingham.

We also hear,

Child benefit, income support or tax credits could be withheld from families who have a third child under the plan, Mr Shapps told the Daily Mail.

The minister also suggested unemployed people aged under 25 should be denied housing benefit so they continued to live with their parents for longer.

The Liberals and Tories are truly a Coalition of nosey-parkers telling people where and how they can live.

60 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Where are they going to put us all?

    Debtor’s Prison?

    Squiddly Diddly

    July 16, 2013 at 1:59 pm

  2. Here is another development in the increasing war on Jobseekers.

    According to the DWP, the controversial Universal Jobmatch site only gets around 22% of all vacancies. This means if an unemployed person puts in one job application using the Universal Jobmatch site, then that person is expected to make and record FIVE times as many job applications using other employment sources.

    Anyone else heard of this development?

    Note, there is still no statutory requirement to apply for a certain minimum number of jobs.

    Tobanem

    July 16, 2013 at 2:05 pm

    • My UJM account isn’t letting me in. Even before it locked me out, it didn’t let me apply for a single job, and would not let me record any searches, I think this sets us up to fail. I go to the public site and can’t apply for any jobs. As most are Company Confidential (what a big employer!), I can’t try contacting them or even finding their website.

      Yesterday JCP hassled me about not applying for a job. The job was a yard and warehouse person. There is no public transport and you have to drive. But I’m not allowed to drive because of epilepsy, I pointed out. I’m much older than they’d like (they wanted somebody 16-19, so could pay less). I’m disabled and you must be ablebodied. And I can’t do the majority of the physical side of the job. And they won’t employ me with my health conditions and disabilities. I can’t get there at 7am or even 11am (4 hours late). It’s far too far to walk and if I was a superhuman able to walk 10 miles an hour I’d still need to illegally walk long chunks of the route on motorways, risking being obliterated by lorries every second, twice daily every day. Every 3rd week I’d need a day off to go to the clinic for treatment. Most days my ME would make it too impossible to come in or work. (Today’s a bad day BTW and I’ve hardly the energy to type. Not really enough energy to cook, but need to eat.) As I have epilepsy etc. I could lose consciousness and fall under a moving lorry either at work or while walking on the motorway. I could get arrested for walking on the motorway though there is no public transport or footpath. Even though it’s a mandated job. So whatever rule or order you follow, you’re already breaking someone else’s rules.
      JCP ignored all of this.

      Why haven’t you applied?
      I said the job was on jobpoint, had been readvertised as they had no takers, and there was something important that got in the way when I tried to apply. There was no contact information at all. So I couldn’t contact them or even find out the employer/company.

      Hope they don’t sanction me over this.

      something survived...

      July 16, 2013 at 6:41 pm

      • Was told by pa at jcp, I should also take screen prints off jobpoints at jcp as well as using ujm as proof of job search ?????

        Lord Wandsworth

        July 17, 2013 at 7:59 am

      • And I can’t get to a printer! They are morons (JCP)!

        something survived...

        July 17, 2013 at 7:50 pm

  3. Looks as if we are going back to the ‘Work house’ era! The people fought for freedom in this country from this tyranny! Let’s make sure this government can not drag us back into those dark ages again!!!!!!

    Tom

    July 16, 2013 at 2:14 pm

    • Do you know one thing I really really hate is people telling me how I should live my life.

      I bet that’s the same for most of us.

      The Liberals and Tories and the others stirring up things against people have a lot to answer for.

      Andrew Coates

      July 16, 2013 at 2:20 pm

      • As I said recently about a scene in the “Nick and Margaret Show” where it was said that it is unacceptable for the unemployed to buy chicken – what is the end product of that logic?

        Tobanem

        July 16, 2013 at 2:48 pm

  4. Attended JCP today and the first question was “Why are you only submitting UJM as proof of looking for work?” (Forrest Gump) Because you told me too! in my Jobseekers Agreement.

    jray

    July 16, 2013 at 2:58 pm

    • Nice comeback jray, I bet your advisor didn’t see it that way though?

      I suspect your advisor changed your agreement after that chat but it wont make a difference as all jobsites have highs and lows so 22% one day is 10% another or 50% another, it changes constantly and I know this as I track them all so this latest plan if it is one wont work.

      As for Tobanems post, what made me laugh is that where I live and I thought this was the same everywhere but chicken fillets are more expensive than a whole chicken?

      Face it that if we allowed the public to decide what the poor can eat, we’ed all be eating happy shopper and well on our ways to obesity.I cant wait to see an advisor tell a claimant im sorry if you stay a vegan or veggy I will have to sanction you.

      gaia

      July 16, 2013 at 3:18 pm

      • Well I’m vegetarian and have been threatened with being sanctioned for being vegetarian. Under the old system I’ve also had benefits stopped for refusing to work in slaughterhouses, meat factories, meat packing, etc. Hindus are allowed to refuse to work with beef and Jews and Muslims are allowed to refuse to work with pork. Probably Buddhists could get an exemption too.

        My JCP ‘advisor’ also yesterday hassled me for coming into the Jobcentre ‘too many times’. Um, I said, I was mandated to, by you personally!

        something survived...

        July 16, 2013 at 6:47 pm

  5. Greater use of contraception to reduce “repeat abortions”

    I simply cannot wait to see how they will police this. It’s just one step away from enforced sterilisation surely?

    *despairs*

    Lucy

    July 16, 2013 at 3:07 pm

  6. Actually, I know what they will do. They will compel young women into having contraceptive implants. I’ve seen this happen using a gentle form of coercion and morally repellent as it is, it has happened.

    Young women will simply remove the implants for themselves, a quick slice with a razor, a shed load of pain, quite a lot of blood and freedom of choice is back where it belongs, with the individual.

    Of course it will end up costing more because serious infection usually follows self surgery.

    Lucy

    July 16, 2013 at 3:13 pm

    • Don’t you think this latest bit of news on birth control is all a bit mute when the government doesn’t intend to offer benefits for anyone with over 2 children.

      I would so love it if every parent with more than 2 just got up one day and took all their excess to social services, it would cause a nightmare not to mention the cost of looking after them as opposed to the original mother doing it.

      Your government doesn’t want to say it as does no other government but the truth is the species that is human is unsustainable so government or no government, the food will run lean eventually in time and yes I mean global.

      The trick is to share but that would ruin the tory image of capitalism which is without doubt the main running cause of 2008s global crash which in turn brought down the UK and not labour as the coalition what like to have us believe. Whether the tories like it or not it is LABOUR that holds the RECORD for the LOWEST claimant count unless the tories want to say that ONS is not a creditable source.

      gaia

      July 16, 2013 at 3:34 pm

      • Glad I’m single with no children.

        Obi Wan Kenobi

        July 16, 2013 at 4:26 pm

  7. It seems to me, the way these cuts have been implemented, that if 2 people are affected, it might be better for them to each ’employ’ the other and claim working tax credits. There are many situations in which the loss of JSA and the gaining of WTC would leave them better off than facing benefit cuts, bedroom tax, child benefit cuts (there’s a proposal to limit it to 2 children for those on the dole) and keeping JSA. In addition you don’t have the JC hassling you. They’d both have to employ each other for the required minimum number of hours but the employment could be anything from mowing each others lawns to beer taster. Loopholes are not just for the rich.

    Anton

    July 16, 2013 at 6:50 pm

  8. Organisation: Department for Burks & Pensions.

    Policy: Complicating the welfare system and making sure workfare doesn’t pay.

    Obi Wan Kenobi

    July 16, 2013 at 6:52 pm

  9. Regarding Tobanem’s earlier comment about the DWP requiring the unemployed to seek 5 times as many jobs on websites other than Universal Jobmatch because the latter only gets around 22% of the total number of vacancies, that reasoning (from the Jobcentre) is claptrap.

    Around 70% of all vacancies don’t get advertised, which means only 30% actually do get advertised, so if Universal Jobmatch gets 22% of those vacancies, then that means only 8% are left elsewhere – and not 5 times as many!

    In any event, it is not always possible for every Jobseeker to find suitable vacancies to apply for every single day in all parts of the country, and that fact combined with the fact that Tobanem already pointed out about there being no statutory minimum number of jobs to apply for, renders the advice from the DWP inane.

    But try telling that to Jobcentre personnel!

    Sentinel

    July 16, 2013 at 7:37 pm

    • Individual Jobseekers would need to know an awful lot of people in order to obtain “word of mouth” vacancies on the basis of “it’s who you know” sources of vacancies!!!

      Remember, there are many more people unemployed than there are available job vacancies – and that stark arithmetical fact cannot be altered!

      But try telling that fact to Jobcentre personnel!!!

      Sentinel

      July 16, 2013 at 7:42 pm

    • No one ever said JCP advisors make sense, even they don’t understand half their own claptrap but do remember it does come from above and when you have the likes of IDS who says it doesn’t matter that the ONS figures don’t support it, you still cant prove im wrong, is it any surprize.

      As for your figures sentinel, where did you get them from as if they were hidden, how would we know that it is around 70% (genuine question).

      As for this 22% at UJ, your first have to subtract all the repeaters meaning around 6% (being kind) which leaves us at around 16%. Then we have the bad email addresses so that’s another 2%, making it 14%. Then we have to subtract the jobs we cant realistically travel to as the transport costs outweigh the pay before tax so we take another 10% (again being kind) and we are left with around 4%. This is all so only if all 22% of jobs were jobs you could actually do as in reality you subtract this first. So of 22% of jobs you will in all likelihood only be able to apply for at best 2%.

      I don’t doubt DWP/JCP will step up their campaign of shock and awe as it is here that they can pick on everyone regardless of evidence supplied because of the adage of HOW LONG EXACTLY IS A PIECE OF STRING.

      If you want to uncover something then how about this im working on currently.

      I have wondered this last year how we have had so many vacancies yet little did it do to realistically lower the claimant count so I set about having a look see. Practically all jobs go through recruitment agencies so I wondered how many of there advertised jobs go to the unemployed as opposed to those who already have a job. I tried a open honest letter to these agencies and low and behold they clamed up. I put in an FOI but they claimed they don’t hold such figures yet we know by law they have to keep records so could easily put this stat together.
      I did however get one person to talk off record and it would appear that the general consensus amongst these agencies is that theirs no profit in unemployed people currently.

      Look at it this way, if the agency takes someone who already has a job it guarantees another job post opens, meaning a continued source of revenue for the recruitment sector.

      gaia

      July 17, 2013 at 9:03 am

      • FAO Gaia

        Very often Jobcentre advisors themselves will say that most jobs don’t get advertised. So play them at their own game – tell them that there are not FIVE times as many jobs to be found advertised elsewhere as there are on Universal Jobmatch.

        Also, as Sentinel said, you would need to know an awful lot of people who could give you job details by “word of mouth”, ie, details about vacancies which don’t get advertised – especially details of FIVE times as many vacancies as you find on Universal Jobmatch!

        Tobanem

        July 17, 2013 at 9:21 am

    • Maybe Just Maybe. In the election after next. (2020?) I said Just maybe. The employed will be required to take out an insurance against being unemployed.

      recklinghausen

      July 17, 2013 at 7:41 am

  10. ****ACHTUNG! RECORD ALL YOUR SIGNINGS AND INTERVIEWS!****

    1. I now record all my signings/interviews. As most signings take place in an open plan area, accommodating me is unfortunately causing my Jobcentre considerable inconvenience because they now have to ensure that I do not accidentally record other claimants’ personal information.

    This is the FOI link for Recording by claimants during interviews, telephone calls etc.

    https://www.whatdotheyknow.com/request/167004/response/405790/attach/html/3/Recordings%20by%20claimants1.pdf.html

    2. This is the letter I sent. You may want to add your own reasons for recording your signings. For example: advisor bullying you to sign up to UJM or pestering you for access to your UJM account. And so on.

    Dear ******

    I am writing to advise you that as of the ******, which is my next signing day, I intend to record all my signings/interviews/telephone conversations with the DWP Jobcentre Plus. This will be done via a digital recording device. The recording device will not be visible to the adviser.

    My reason/s for doing this are as follows.

    Recent reports in the media seem to suggest that Jobcentres have been setting targets and league tables to sanction benefit claimants. And that staff are being warned by managers that they will be disciplined unless they increase the number of claimants referred to a tougher benefit regime.

    Furthermore, reading comments made by claimants on various Internet forums, it would appear that some JCP advisers do not know exactly what they are allowed/not allowed to say to claimants, particularly regarding Universal Jobmatch. Some even appear to be making it up as they go along, either through ignorance or just sheer frustration.

    When a claimant is sanctioned or a sanction doubt is raised against them, decision makers tend to believe the DWP by default. Being sanctioned or having a sanction doubt raised against me will cause me considerable financial hardship. Consequently, recording my signings/interviews will ensure that there will be no misunderstanding as to what or wasn’t said between myself and an adviser .

    If my signing/interview takes place in an open plan area, I may accidentally record other claimants’ personal information. To ensure this does not happen you may want to use a private interview room.

    I must stress that these recordings are for my personal use only and will not be published on the Internet. They will only ever be heard by a third party if used as evidence in an appeal should I ever be sanctioned or if a sanction doubt is raised against me.

    I would be grateful if you would write to me confirm receipt of this letter.

    Yours sincerely

    **********

    3. Insist they write back to you. The following link may be of some help. It is for a Jobcentre publication called “About Jobcentre Plus (Our Service Standards)”. You can also get a copy from your local Jobcentre as well. In the back is a feedback form with tick boxes where you can state the nature of your feedback, i.e. a complaint, and how you want them to reply to you, i.e. by letter. Staple this form to your letter. Address the letter to the office manager. Ask for their name at the reception; they are obliged to tell you who it is.

    http://www.direct.gov.uk/prod_consum_dg/groups/dg_digitalassets/@dg/@en/@benefits/documents/digitalasset/dg_202270.pdf

    4. For whatever reason, some Jobcentre managers may decide not to inform their staff that they are being recorded. To ensure that your adviser is on-message when you sign, advise them that the signing/interview is being recorded and give them a copy of the following letter. When I showed it to the adviser at my last signing, she freaked. She couldn’t wait to get rid of me. She asked me if I’d done any work in the last two weeks and if my circumstances have changed at all, and then it was a case of: OK mate, off you fuck!

    Dear JCP Adviser,

    I wrote to your manager on the ****** to advise them that I intended to record all my signings and interviews with the DWP, and I explained why. This will be done via a digital recording device. The recording device will not be visible to you.

    If my signing/interview takes place in an open plan area, I may accidentally record other claimants’ personal information. To ensure this does not happen you may want to use a private interview room.

    I must stress that these recordings are for my personal use only and will not be published on the Internet. They will only ever be heard by a third party if used as evidence in an appeal should I ever be sanctioned or if a sanction doubt is raised against me.

    Yours sincerely,

    **********

    5. To reinforce your message, email it to your Jobcentre as well. You may also want to send a copy to the JCP district manager.

    http://www.dwp.gov.uk/docs/managers-by-region.pdf

    The Helping Hand

    July 17, 2013 at 8:35 am

  11. It had been said on here before, that no one can be sent on to Mandatory Work Activity, if they have recently completed “another employment measure”.

    This is based on the DWPs own guidelines.

    One Jobcentre manager has claimed that the Work Programme does not count as “another employment measure” – and so anyone recently finishing the Work Programme can be sent on Mandatory Work Activity.

    Anybody want to comment further on this?

    Tobanem

    July 17, 2013 at 9:13 am

    • Cant find a clear definition of what EMPLOYMENT MEASURE implies currently in JCP words so nice one for bringing it up Tobanem.

      gaia

      July 17, 2013 at 10:18 am

    • So If you are on Work Programme and are sent to Poundland for a week. You finish with WP Jcp can send you back to Poundland ???? WTBF

      Recklinghausen

      July 17, 2013 at 11:23 am

    • A FOI on this subject was submitted to the DWP
      https://www.whatdotheyknow.com/request/is_the_work_programme_an_employm#incoming-406022
      The DWP response https://www.whatdotheyknow.com/request/167181/response/406022/attach/html/3/3121%20Response.pdf.html
      states:
      “The recorded information we hold that best answers this question is Regulation 3(8) of the
      Jobseeker’s Allowance (Schemes for Assisting Persons to Obtain Employment) Regulations
      2013, which confirms the Work Programme is an employment-related measure. A link to the
      Regulations is provided below:

      http://www.dwp.gov.uk/docs/a11-6101.pdf

      Son the WP is an “employment-related measure”, I assume that this is the same as an “employment measure” and as such you cannot be sent on the MWA.

      The argument remains as to what period of time constitutes “recently” though!

      Gissajob

      July 17, 2013 at 12:35 pm

      • Nice one top one Gissajob, you’ve saved us the leg work and I for one want you to know and I probably speak for others although I will let them do that, but I very much appreciate what you have done.

        May I also take this moment to thank all the others also who’s hard work and devotion has supplied much valuable information that would have taken me ages to accrue by myself. I also want to thank you all for making me not feel alone in what I see as an injustice to all.

        THANK YOU.

        gaia

        July 17, 2013 at 2:56 pm

      • Gissajob:

        There is no offical guidance to what a reasonable amount of time means, therefore the JCP advisers are free to put you on a MWA even if you have just finished The Work Programme, but using your own judgement and common sense it would probably be anywhere from around 2 weeks to whenever after, if the adviser chooses that option for you.

        Obi Wan Kenobi

        July 19, 2013 at 7:28 pm

    • I have sent an FOI to the DWP regarding the amount of time than can legally elapse from completing one ‘Employment Measure’ (Work Programme) before you can be put on another one (meaning an MWA).

      Will post on here when I get a reply.

      Obi Wan Kenobi

      July 18, 2013 at 5:32 am

      • Obi,
        I look forward to learning what the DWP regard as being “recent”!

        Gissajob

        July 19, 2013 at 7:37 pm

      • I look forward to seeing what the DWP regard as “recent”.

        Gissajob

        July 19, 2013 at 7:39 pm

  12. I’ve been told to go and see a self-employment adviser.

    Not sure why, but I shan’t be doing their course or claiming ESA.

    Squiddly Diddly

    July 17, 2013 at 1:19 pm

    • If it’s anythink like this area, (Suffolk) they are trying to force you to become betterware/kleeneze agents.

      sirloin steak

      July 17, 2013 at 2:11 pm

    • Sounds like their trying to get the numbers down again SD. To be honest though I wouldn’t put any stock in it as so far it has been the claimant that must come up with the idea before anyone will even think about loaning you money.

      This said I hope you do have an idea as at least it will get you out of the hell hole of drawing benefits. Their naturally is a tory con in this though as it covers exactly a six month period meaning when and if you sign back on at least for them you are not appearing in the long term stats yet it cost them no more than had you not had signed off.

      SO, take it up by all means, just make sure if your failing to make a go of it that you return before the 6 month period is up as it will wreck the tories silly little plan.

      The best advice any can give right about now is that college time is coming up soon so get on a concessioned courses as you might as well learn a trade while being inactive and one you chose rather than JCP as I will tell you now that all their offer will be retail, hospitality and warehouse courses (forget that if these interest you).

      gaia

      July 17, 2013 at 2:46 pm

      • Thank you for your advice Gaia. Unfortunately I don’t really have an idea for ESA.

        My so-called advisor thought I would make a very nice self-employed painter and decorator, but my GP was quite happy to point out to them that I am 54, have arthritis, asthma, and no experience in this field.

        She then noticed that I’d designed one or two databases over ten years ago and booked me an appointment with an ESA advisor. I spoke to an advisor on the phone and he was very good about it, but he warned me that their plan was to dock £30 from my JSA.

        I’ve managed to get my GP to stop them sending me on a warehouse course, but I imagine they’ll simply book me onto a retail or hospitality course instead.

        I’m even stumped for a trade that would suit me on a concessionary course, as; my background is in library and museum admin work.

        Squiddly Diddly

        July 18, 2013 at 8:13 am

  13. Tobanem :
    FAO Gaia
    Very often Jobcentre advisors themselves will say that most jobs don’t get advertised. So play them at their own game – tell them that there are not FIVE times as many jobs to be found advertised elsewhere as there are on Universal Jobmatch.
    Also, as Sentinel said, you would need to know an awful lot of people who could give you job details by “word of mouth”, ie, details about vacancies which don’t get advertised – especially details of FIVE times as many vacancies as you find on Universal Jobmatch!

    Its funny you say that Tobanem as that’s exactly what I do, do as im no fan of the law of averages so what with being into math never miss out on an offer of talking figures and government is all about that.

    I find it generally makes them speechless what with also going beyond the usual stats presentation that their use to. You know the score as im sure alarm bells went off for you as well when you first heard the news of the initial WP payment being £400 or made the connection when the tories spoke of an immigrant family with 14 kids living in a mansion.

    As for hidden vacancies in regards to JCP its all so they can get you to prospect if their is no advertised vacancies fitting our respective skillsets. When someone at JCP quotes a figure as a percent it is an average, not a specific. This means as usual a small group are tested and recorded, then apportioned a percentage as to a whole then wham bam thankyou mam up comes say 70%. Take the latest drop in claimant counts, where I live unemployment has increased, not decreased and our neighbouring counties aren’t doing much better with one making us look positively small fry in comparison.

    Its not about word of mouth, its about sending your CV out to employers who may not have advertised.

    gaia

    July 17, 2013 at 3:59 pm

  14. UJM UPDATE – Note the extra wording in pragagraph 82.

    From: Operations FOI Requests Department for Work and Pensions

    e-mail: freedom-of-information-request@dwp.gsi.gov.uk

    Our Ref: VTR2846

    15 July 2013

    UJ Toolkit Chp 3 v37.0 11.07.13.pdf

    Chapter 03 – Using Universal Jobmatch (UJ)

    Actively Seeking Employment

    82. We cannot specify to a JSA claimant how they provide us with records of their jobsearch activity and Universal Jobmatch will not change this – it is not therefore possible to require JSA claimants to give DWP access to their Universal Jobmatch account.

    https://www.whatdotheyknow.com/request/165890/response/408735/attach/html/4/UJ%20Toolkit%20Chp%203%20v37.0%2011.07.13.pdf.html

    Obi Wan Kenobi

    July 18, 2013 at 5:40 am

  15. Jobcentre advisers seem to forget that any account you have in your name is private, this includes a UJM account, the next time they ask you for access to your UJM account, ask them if they would give you access to their bank account.

    Obi Wan Kenobi

    July 18, 2013 at 5:47 am

  16. Question: Can Jobcentre personnel insist that they can photocopy a claimant’s written jobsearch diary?

    Alternatively, can a claimant insist that Jobcentre personnel don’t have any right to do that?

    Tobanem

    July 18, 2013 at 7:22 am

  17. Wikipedia on Universal Jobmatch:

    “Due to staff lying to clients, claiming it is mandatory to signup, by February 2013 there were some 2 million registered users.”

    Lovely.

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Universal_Jobmatch

    Poor. Old. Tired. Horse

    July 18, 2013 at 7:36 am

  18. FAO Obi Wan Kenobi

    Following your comment on jobsearch records in relation to Universal Jobmatch, do you know if Jobcentre personnel are acting within the rules if they insist that they can photocopy a claimant’s written jobsearch diary?

    Can a claimant refuse to allow Jobcentre personnel to photocopy written jobsearch records – without incurring sanctions?

    Tobanem

    July 18, 2013 at 7:40 am

    • There really isn’t any reason why you wouldn’t let them do that, after all it would work in your favour anyway, as long it’s all true.

      As to whether they can legally insist on photocopying your written jobsearch diary or joblog – I suggest you send a freedom of information request to the DWP.

      e-mail: freedom-of-information-request@dwp.gsi.gov.uk

      Obi Wan Kenobi

      July 18, 2013 at 5:58 pm

  19. OFF TOPIC BUT IN RELATION TO MY RECENT POST WHILE AT WPP AND THE USE OF UJM AND THE ADVISOR WITNESSING FAILURE AND HIS ADVICE TO ME. There are not enough computers in the library or wpp’s jobcentre etc to cover all needs of 30 hour jobsearch. Today I had the misfortune of using the computer in the public library. On the ground floor you are allowed 30 MINUTES. by the time I had logged on and the user screen appeared the clock had run down to 26 minutes. There’s no acceptable way of doing a 30 hour jobsearch online if all you can rely on is public computers. There is a horrid thought though. ””could jcp be planning to give us all lap tops that we will be required to take with us to jcp on signing days”’. I can’t get wi fi where i live and I can’t afford a dongle or landline

    Sirloin Steak

    July 18, 2013 at 8:18 am

    • Worry not as the cost of LAPPIES isn’t in the budget. That’s why they want you to sign up so they can track the IP number which of the 2 million will probably be on a smart phone.

      Their trying to timeline you , me and any other unemployed person as part of a profile of someones aggregated data. For a start they have already declared that they are the DATA CONTROLLER meaning they can already access it without your permission as this makes them if correct a second party under DPA however this is mute if the hosting servers are not on UK soil.

      The question remains however, CAN YOU LEGALLY FORCE SOMEONE TO PART WITH THEIR PERSONAL AND SENSITIVE DATA?

      gaia

      July 18, 2013 at 8:52 am

      • Squiddly Diddly :
        Thank you for your advice Gaia. Unfortunately I don’t really have an idea for ESA.
        My so-called advisor thought I would make a very nice self-employed painter and decorator, but my GP was quite happy to point out to them that I am 54, have arthritis, asthma, and no experience in this field.
        She then noticed that I’d designed one or two databases over ten years ago and booked me an appointment with an ESA advisor. I spoke to an advisor on the phone and he was very good about it, but he warned me that their plan was to dock £30 from my JSA.
        I’ve managed to get my GP to stop them sending me on a warehouse course, but I imagine they’ll simply book me onto a retail or hospitality course instead.
        I’m even stumped for a trade that would suit me on a concessionary course, as; my background is in library and museum admin work.

        I like it, as if paint and decorating is good for a person with arthritis and asthma. If you know your way around PCs,servers and stuff though then maybe you would consider that as a direction to head in or if you garden maybe that, only you know your interests and their strength and weaknesses.

        If they do bundle you off to a proper course (ie, NVQ or C&G)not of your choice just remember THAT A COURSE IS AS ONLY REWARDING AS ITS CANDIDATE IS ABLE AND WILLING so you could still attend with all the passion and conviction in the world, it doesn’t mean your pass it.

        I know I don’t know your skills or where you live but the answer is the same for all of us when I say for now and now only ied feel better about the future if I could find at least a job giving 12 hours national min a week and a part time college course of my free (realistic) choosing so I can see if I can get more hours or a better job in the future while studying for the very same needs.

        gaia

        July 18, 2013 at 10:17 am

      • YES IF YOU ARE THE DWP OR WPP.

        fred the fluter

        July 20, 2013 at 10:33 am

  20. Gaia I do not have a smart phone nor do I want one. I have a bog standard handset from carphone warehouse. While I remain unemployed I shall keep using public computers and they won’t take cookies. can I get sanctioned for that ?

    sirloin steak

    July 18, 2013 at 9:03 am

    • Can you prove all the public PCs do this as if YES then NO they cant but if its a part of your agreement to use the UJ site then please re-read the front page as you can still ring up UJ without actually signing up and as you know or should when doing such they record your NR number which will act as evidence. Not using UJ because a public PC wont except cookies by itself is not a defence.

      As you may have read in the toolkit how you present your evidence is the claimants choice, theirs absolutely NO LAW that dictates you must present it as prescribed by an advisor so regardless of making you sign up if you want to present your evidence in a written fashion on paper you can and so as to increase your rights I suggest you do it on your own paper and not their evidence sheet.

      All that matters is did you apply for jobs irrespective of where you sourced them and does it cover the total points you agreed to in the jobseekers agreement, I say this as its not always possible to guarantee say getting 10 points from one website so if your agreement says 21 points then making up the difference elsewhere still demonstrates willing and acting in accordance with actively seeking work.

      gaia

      July 23, 2013 at 5:40 am

  21. Talking of ‘phones, have a look at this report on how £56m is spent on Government helplines – with DWP benefit enquiries the busiest and most expensive:

    http://www.guardian.co.uk/money/2013/jul/18/callers-spend-56m-government-helplines

    Tobanem

    July 18, 2013 at 3:48 pm

    • Seen it. Try phoning from a mobile and you run out of credit faster than a tart does of condoms

      Philip

      July 20, 2013 at 10:15 am

    • Government, especially a tory one uses money as control so using pricy phone lines inorder to force you onto going online doesn’t surprize me at all.

      gaia

      July 23, 2013 at 5:43 am

  22. I’m just waiting for for the whole of Universal Jobmatch to be found illegal, as the server it’s hosted on is in Utah USA, well outside the European boarders.

    It will be compensation time for everyone.

    Obi Wan Kenobi

    July 18, 2013 at 6:07 pm

    • Did you know that ad Universal Jobmatch [Monster ! ] is Utah USA, This is a predominately Mormon State. ALLEGEDLY They have their fingers in business interests in the USA and ALLEGEDLY in the political arena too. Does this mean however that our personal information ”secure” under the data protection act in the United Kingdom is now made available [Under The Patriot Act – Again ALLEGEDLY] to the likes of the NSA CIA FBI etc etc. If our information is held overseas. Just how safe is our data

      Philip

      July 20, 2013 at 7:51 am

      • Criminal activities are exempt from the DPA along with of interest to the general public so forget that argument Philip.

        Trust me, your information is already out there so all we can now do is reduce any new personal and sensitive data being added and the only way is to use DPA to the letter.

        What you need to be aware of these days is profiling as that is exactly what the UJ site can do as it is after all a database so you only need datasets and bingo.

        For instance with the UJ site they can monitor no only the page your on but how long you were on it and whether or not in fact you were on another tab or opened another browser page from scratch that say wasn’t related to say tax credit or travel costing.

        gaia

        July 23, 2013 at 6:29 am

    • Someone on this site a while back said it is in Ireland which if correct means dependant on where depends on whether or not DPA covers it.

      As for monster they also have an office in WC1 London so again in reference to are you protected under UK law in regards to who manages the system, it depends on which office manages it.

      gaia

      July 23, 2013 at 5:55 am

  23. Universal Jobmatch is a total piece of junk, the damn thing doesn’t work right, it sometimes fails to log jobs you have applied for (done it with me twice now), if you hit the backpage button on your browser it sometimes loses the website connection and it doesn’t matter how much you narrow your search parameters, the usless thing still puts jobs up from the other end of the country.

    Bloody Useless.

    Obi Wan Kenobi

    July 23, 2013 at 9:24 am

  24. Gaia

    Very alarmed to learn that UJ can monitor how much time we spend on a page and whether we are using another tab or opening another browser page that isn’t related to our jobsearching.

    It has an almost fiendish cunning! And it relects almost exactly what happens when I get bored with jobsearching.

    Can I continue to look at youtube videos when I am supposed to be jobsearching or will I get another telling-off from my Jobcentre advisor?

    Squiddly Diddly

    July 23, 2013 at 3:25 pm

  25. You politicians are pathetic and wouldn’t understand poverty even if you tried cause you all grew up with silver spoons in your pathetic narcissistic mouths. A compassionate government and a fair go and true blue mate and lucky country?? Yeh right look in the mirror fatcats and start cutting your own fat saleries and fuck this money you get when you all retire that’s scrapped also you greedy pathetic psychos.. Human nature is kindness and all this government has is greed and poverty people as it’s target disgraceful and absolutely wicked..

    Angela Crawford

    June 23, 2014 at 3:58 pm


Leave a Reply

